Various Artists – The Ladder Failed

This is the info for The Latter Failed.

From IndiePages:

“I think that compilations that focus on a group of fairly unknown bands are a good thing. This cd does just that: of the 18 bands on here, mostly from the southeastern US, I’ve only heard of 2 or 3 of ‘em. Sure, it’s always a big risk to release a compilation cd without “big-name bands” on it to help sell the disc, but if they’re done right, they can be much more fun to listen to. The music on this comp is primarily bedroom pop music – lots of one-person projects recording at home on a four-track. The overall pace of the record is a bit slower and laid-back, but there are a bunch of great pop moments on here, such as the soft Club 8/Shoestrings-ish twee pop of See Venus, the equally soft Fairline Parkway (who remind me a bit of Aden or Brittle Stars), the really really cool Ether Family Presents (imagine Amy Linton fronting Slant 6), and the vaguely Ropers-ish Lookwell (who I’d quite like to hear more from!), among others, like Lopez Jar and Gritty Kitty. Speaking of the Brittle Stars, there are TWO side projects here: I Love You (Stephen), with a casio cover of Rocketship’s “She’s Gonna Make Me Cry”, and Dan’s project, Clarify. Unfortunately, not all of the bands are very interesting (see Pacer or Polline), and there are way too many instrumentals (four or five; I lost count) that I didn’t much care for. And this compilation makes the error of not including ANY information about the bands at all, which is especially glaring since almost all of these bands are relatively unknown.”

This entry was posted in Discography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Scan This QR Code

    To send contact and mastering pricing info to your phone, scan the image above with your phone's QR reader. Click to enlarge.

  • Mastering Specials

    Individual Song Mastering
    If you are releasing a single, or just a few songs, this is the most flexible option. Update the quantity of this item for the number of songs you need mastered. Currently on sale for $25 off per track for a limited time!
  • Not ready to pull the trigger on the mastering yet? Wanna chat first? Just click on the handy-dandy Google Voice widget above, enter your phone number and we'll be connected. It's magic.

    Or non-magically email mastering [at] jimmyether [dot] com (though email is still kinda magical).

  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Product Categories

  • “Like” This Site?

    If you like what I'm doing here, want to be kept informed via Facebook and don't mind your friends knowing you "like" me, then click the little "Like" button below. Don't worry. I'll know you just "like" me... not "LIKE-like" me.

  • Mailing List

    Subscribe for occasional newsletters, mastering specials & giveaways (ie. FREE MASTERING).

    * = required field

    powered by MailChimp!
  • Follow Me!

    Follow me on Twitter. This I command. Hey, look... this is the crap I've been saying!